top of page

Discovery Sport takes five stars for safety from Euro NCAP, again

Written by Daniel Andzhurov – January 03, 2023

Reviewed by Asaf Kedem

The Discovery Sport has again been awarded five Euro NCAP safety stars – meaning all Range Rover, Discovery and Defender models now have the maximum safety rating.

Discovery Sport debuted in 2014 with five stars. Tested again in 2022 to even tougher standards and requirements, the versatile family SUV secured another five-star rating, with improved scores of 89% for child occupant protection, 71% for vulnerable road users and 85% for safety assistant. Protection of elderly passengers scored 84%.

The Discovery Sport joins the Discovery, Defender and Range Rover Evoque, Range Rover Velar, Range Rover Sport and Range Rover models in achieving a five-star rating, based on decades of experience in active and passive safety systems.

Thomas Mueller, Executive Director Product Engineering, Jaguar Land Rover, commented: “Our ambition is to design and manufacture the safest cars for our customers. Digital innovation and the introduction of new ADAS (Advanced driver-assistance system) technologies have allowed us to maintain safety standards at the highest level, while retaining the flexibility and capabilities associated with all Discovery vehicles.”

Auto Trendy’s take:

We, as automotive market trend reporters, come across many new developments and innovations which make cars better, quicker, prettier and cleaner. Nevertheless, we do not talk about safety as often as we should. So, today we own the honour to Land Rover for their reminding us that safety should always be put first with any type of vehicle. Good job!

bottom of page